Silent film music is a branch of dramatic music. The principles by which music responds to, reinforces, and amplifies drama on stage in opera or ballet apply equally to music which accompanies dramatic events on screen. At its finest, silent film music is a partner with the film, as sound and image work together to create dramatic expression.


Composing and performing new music for silent film is an important area of my work.


As Resident Film Accompanist at the National Gallery of Art and regularly-featured accompanist at the Library of Congress’ Mt. Pony Theater, I perform improvised piano and organ scores. I also create fully-notated scores for silent film for live performance and DVD release.


I have performed my silent film scores at the Giornate del Cinema Muto in Pordenone, Italy, the New York Public Library at Lincoln Center, Sala Cecelia Meireles in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, the Kennedy Center, and many other venues.


I also explore film and video as part of a larger theatrical context: cabaret, musical theater, opera. The Comic Roach: A Roadhouse Picture Show , which premiered at the 2009 Capital Fringe Festival , is an example of embedding silent film within a larger theatrical production (a “film-cabaret”).


I am also the co-founder of the Snark Ensemble.


 Click here to see my silent film music.


Silent Film Music
Scores Available For Rental

One Week (2014-15)
Music to accompany the 1920 silent comedy starring Buster Keaton, 22 minutes
Orchestra: 3 (3 dbl picc) 3 3 (3 dbl bs cl) 3/ 4 3 3 1/ timp 2 perc hp pno strings

The General (2014)
Music to accompany the 1926 silent film starring Buster Keaton
Orchestra: 1(dbl pc) 01 (dbl bs cl) 1 0110 1 perc vn I vn I va vc cb

The Wind (2011-12)

for SATB chorus, chamber orchestra, and theater organ, 73 minutes.

Hard Knocks (2008)
for chamber ensemble, 11 minutes

A Hash House Fraud (2008)
for piano solo, 11 minutes

Peanuts and Bullets (2008)
for chamber ensemble, 12 minutes

Too Many Mammas (2008)
for chamber ensemble, 9 minutes

His New Mamma (2007), 15 minutes
for jazz trio

Picking Peaches (2007)
for jazz trio, 21:30 minutes


The First 100 Years (2007)
for piano solo, 13 minutes

The Hansom Cabman (2007)
for chamber ensemble, 20 minutes

Lucky Stars (2007)
for chamber ensemble, 21 minutes

One Week (2007)
for piano solo, 20 minutes

Soldier Man (2007)
for chamber ensemble

The Navigator (2007)
for theater organ, 60 minutes

The Magic Lantern (Méliès Suite in seven movements) (2006)
for piano solo, 33 minutes

The Scarlet Letter (2006)
for piano solo, 100 minutes

The Wind (2006)
for piano solo, 90 minutes

Liberty (2005)
for chamber ensemble, 19 minutes

Back to Top